/* Set the size and font of the tab widget */


NEWSAdvocate Sudershan Kapoor, Chairman, Local Managing Committee, Shri JK Luthra, Honorary Treasurer, DAV (CMC), Principal Dr Rajesh Kumar, Vice Principal Dr Darshandeep Arora, College Registrar G.S Sidhu , Staff Secretary Prof Rajiv Arora and members of academic council took part in the academic procession. With the message to serve the society effectively, around 786 graduate and Post Graduate students were awarded degrees here on Tuesday during the 61st Convocation of DAV College, which was held at college campus. S. Jaspal Singh Sandhu , Vice Chancellor , Guru Nanak Dev University , Amritsar was the Chief Guest, whereas Dr. Satish K Sharma, Director ( colleges), DAVCMC, New Delhi was Guest of Honour. The Convocation began with an Academic Procession in which Chief Guest and Guest of Honour, Advocate Sudershan Kapoor, Chairman, Local Managing Committee, Principal Dr Rajesh Kumar, Vice Principal Darshandeep, College Registrar Prof.G.S Sidhu , Staff Secretary Prof Rajiv Arora along with the members of Academic Staff Council took part in this procession. After lighting the Deepshikha and chanting of Veda Mantras, Advocate Sudershan kapoor, Chairman of local managing committee along with Principal Dr Rajesh Kumar gave a floral welcome to the Chief Guest of the function S. Jaspal Singh Sandhu and Dr. Satish K Sharma. In his welcome speech Dr Rajesh Kumar expressed his deep gratitude towards these eminent personalities, He said that it is an honour for the college that these renowned scholars have accepted our invitation and are here to address the students and to enlighten them with their words of wisdom. Principal Dr. Rajesh also congratulated all the degree holders for their success and shared few words of his advice with them. While addressing students, he stressed on the importance of hard work and persistent efforts to reap fruits of success in one’s life, and motivated the students to strive for higher, stronger and brighter tomorrow. While addressing the students, Chief Guest S. Jaspal Singh emphasized on the need to work harder in order to achieve goals. He quoted some examples from his own life experience. He said that a teacher play crucial role in the life of the students and that they should not only teach in the classes but also encourage them to boost their moral values. While speaking on the occasion Satish K Sharma Shared his valuable practices with the degree holders and motivated the students to set their goals high so that they can work harder to create safer ambience for the betterment of citizens. The students who were awarded degrees included students from streams like MSc (Physics, Maths, and Computer Science), MA (English, Economics, History, Hindi) and M.Com students. Among the graduates, degrees were awarded to students of BSc. (Medical, Non-Medical, Economics, IT, Computer Science, Biotechnology), BBA, BCom, BCA, BJMC, & BA regular and evenings classes. All members of teaching and non-teaching faculty expressed their deep sense of gratitude to all dignitaries, guests and students. On this occasion principals of various colleges and schools were also present. During this convocation Dr. Varinder Bhatia, Principal, SL Bawa Dav College Batala, Ajay Beri , Principal Dav Senior Secondary School, Amritasr, Dr. Seema Arora , Principal DAV College Firozpur, Dr. Anjana Gupta , Principal DAV International School and Principal Paramjeet, DAV school Attari were also present. College administrator Dr. Rajini Khanna , Staff Secretary Prof Rajeev arora, College Bursar Prof Amita Sharma , Vice Principal Dr. Darshandeep Singh , vikram Sharma, Head Department of Computer Science, Dr. Rajini khanna Head Department of Zeology, Dr. Sanjay Sharma Head Department of Chemistry , Dr. Sameer Kalia Head Department of Physics , Prof Aarif Nazir, Head Department Mass Communication and Journalism and Prof Rajnish Popi, Head Department of commerce also graced the occasion with their presence.